Literary Look: Jane Eyre

My Description:

Jane Eyre wasn’t totally my favorite book – it took me a while to read because I found the parts without Rochester in it a bit dull – but I have to admit, I really liked Jane. Despite the plot sort of trudging along, I really respected her sense of self-worth, independence, and her intelligence. Here, I made an outfit that plays up her “plainness” with the beige tones and sort of frumpy sweater but still shows off her feminine side with the cute but modest skirt. The matching oxfords add a bit of a smart edge to the look, and the bun, carefully arranged with wispy pieces falling down, show her conscientious attitude but her softness toward others.

From the Book:

“Bessie, when she heard this narrative, sighed and said, “Poor Miss Jane is to be pitied, too, Abbot.”

“Yes,” responded Abbot, “if she were a nice, pretty child, one might compassionate her forlornness; but one really cannot care for such a little toad as that.”

“Not a great deal, to be sure,” agreed Bessie: “at any rate a beauty like Miss Georgiana would be more moving in the same condition.”

“Yes, I doat on Miss Georgiana!” cried the fervent Abbot. “Little darling! – with her long curls and her blue eyes, and such a sweet colour as she has; just as if she were painted!”

Jane Eyre, Charlotte Brontë

Leave a comment